Skip to content
20/08/2011 / Rugg Tomcat

Day 83: I Had a Dream

Bad Ziwshan, distance covered 75km.

The blog post is so titled for two reasons, firstly last night I had my first cycling dream, something I had expected to have months ago but had never materialised. In it I was firstly helping a friend move house by bike and then got involved in some kind of race. Good dream, lots of fun.

Secondly before I left I had a daydream that I would cycle intot a town around lunchtime, make a show, have lunch and cycle off. As the trip went on I began to doubt, in fact I was sure it would never happen but today I managed to tick off another ambition. Ok so it was only 8km from the camping into Bremen but still I arrived with all my stuff, made a good show and then set off into the afternoon. At first I wasn’t feeling it and was going to just keep riding but I met a Tasmanian couple from the campsite who were keen to see then show, so what the heck, lets do it. Turned out nice!

After that I had my second pizza in two days then left immediately for Oldenburg. I took a different route this time and it was a lovely day for it, a short shower but otherwise perfect temperatures, little wind and an amazing skyscape to look at. When I arrived in Oldenburg it was late shopping day and I could have concievably made another show but I was more keen to find a campsite and I would have had to ppitch ontop of a group of young cristians singing for Africa. A few miles later I wished I had as their song was firmly stuck in my head and was only disloged by Ice Ice Baby. Also on my way out of town I was double checking the map to make sure I was on the right road when a stunning redhead came up and asked if I needed help, without thinking I said ‘No its fine, I know where Im going.’ and closed the map. She turned away and I audibly cried out ‘what the hell am I doing!’ I should have asked her the way to the nearest nice bar, and maybe she would like to come with me… ach well.

The rest of the ride was just as lovely and the sunset was full of golds and reds. A great day back in the saddle, tomorrow I go to see Steven Segal and get back into the Netherlands. Woo!

2 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. David / Aug 24 2011 8:29 pm

    “I should have asked her the way to the nearest nice bar, and maybe she would like to come with me… ”
    Irene and I are going to book fest at Speigeltent in Edinburgh. – Thats a good venue for an indoors/outdoors bar….. bit dream like I think.

    Oldenburg.. I’ve sold a few VSF bikes from that town. Uprights with Rohloffs and SON Schmidt hubs. Good value.

    Following the PBP Audax is odd – Dave’s taking some stick for not going sub 70! Fastest ‘bent has been 53 hours on an M5 Carbon racer

    • Rugg Tomcat / Aug 25 2011 6:20 am

      under 60 hours!!! mental. It always keeps me going to know that there are *much* more mental people around than me. Something easy to forget when your a million miles from anywhere dragging your own bodyweight along.

Leave a comment